Another day, another embarrassment. Damned if you do and damned if you don’t.

So I had a couple of embarrassing things happen on the way to work today. I don’t want want to to imagine something truly mortifying but nearly a bit uncomfortable. I’m not sure if you would feel the same way about these things. Maybe it’s just me and I’m some oversensitive freak but I don’t think so.

The first thing that happened was that I went to Macdonald’s for lunch (I know… Both unhealthy and a wasted opportunity to experience Japanese culture but I was in a rush) and when I got to the counter I realised I didn’t have any money in my wallet.

I must have spent my last thousand yen on food the night before and hadn’t been to the ATM. I realised as I was ordering b so had to say sorry and rush off. At least it wasn’t later as that would have been worse. While this was mildly embarrassing it’s the ki d of thing that occasional happens and I resolved to not let it bother me.

So now being g aware that I had no money and still needing g to buy lunch I headed to the ATM which led to my second embarrassment.

When I arrived at the ATMs it was at the same time as a Japanese businessman who was just ahead of me. There was already a women waiting to use a machine so we queued up behind her. The order being the women then the businessman then me. I noticed that one of the ATMs was actually free and had been since before we got there but for some reason the women was going to it. The businessman had also clearly noticed this and shifted around uncertainly. When another machine became avaliable the women went to use it. The businessman continued to wait as the women had and didn’t use the free machine. It’s likely he had assumed it was out of order as I had due to the women’s actions.

Another machine become free and the businessman takes it. At this point I’m at the front of the queue. Should I go for the free but potentially out of order machine or just wait on the assumption that the people before me had known what they were doing.

Before I could decide a big group came in together and joined the queue behind me. I could tell that they were giving me weird looks. ‘ why isn’t the tall foreigner using the machine? Is it broken?’ but they wait just as I had. When I go up to a machine the women behind me goes to the other free machine which it seems was working the entire time.

I left with the feeling that I’d done something stupid or embarrassing despite doing the same thing as the two people before me. I felt judged even though I knew most of those people didn’t really care and likely forgot in seconds. It wasn’t a major embarrassment or anything too upsetting but it did make me feel really awkward and stupid.

So what do you think? Would you have done the same and if you had would it have been embarrassing. I know there are some people that are unfazed by anything but I’m not one of them. How about you?

3 thoughts on “Another day, another embarrassment. Damned if you do and damned if you don’t.

  1. Sometimes I’m in the same situation with the ATM. If it is out of order because it’s counting money or whatever, it makes a lot of noise and there is a sign on the screen. If I can’t hear anything, I usually check to make sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

